Slice of Life 2021 Day 12: Filling Buckets

Today marks Day 12 of the Slice of Life challenge. Join me as I work to write every day in March,

If you’re feeling low,

And you’re wondering whether the next big gust of wind is going to guide you to shore or strand you out at sea,

And you’re wondering what, if anything, you can do to make this world feel and inch and a half better,

Follow Larry Ferlazzo’s advice. *

Have your kiddos write comments in your Zoom chat about grown-ups who’ve made a difference.

Send those comments (without names) to your colleagues.

Watch the fuel tank on your heart gradually shift from E.

.

.

.

*Let me know if you give this a go!

Published by Lainie Levin

Mom of two, full-time teacher, wife, daughter, sister, friend, and holder of a very full plate

13 thoughts on “Slice of Life 2021 Day 12: Filling Buckets

  1. I love Ferlazzo’s work – he seems tireless! At my school, the 5th grade teachers noticed that the students have been struggling with low self-esteem and a lack of self-confidence more than ever before. They created a document for the entire staff to access and comment under each child’s name with positive adjectives or things we’ve noticed in them across the years. The teachers even added their own names – for do teachers not suffer in these same ways? Reminded me of a climate/culture builder we did years ago – in pd staff wrote letters of gratitude to anyone , living or dead, who’d made a significant difference in their lives. Some volunteered to read theirs aloud – and wept. The rest of that year, we wrote letters of encouragement to each other and left them in school mailboxes. Even had a basket of stationery and pens in the lounge for this. It was one of my favorite coaching experiences ever. Yes – transforms the heart. The giver’s as well as the receiver’s.

    1. I love this idea, and I love what the teachers did for the students – and that it grew to incorporate all who needed extra support – which, as you so rightly said, includes EVERYONE. You know, what’s amazing is the lengths that teachers will go to, when times are tough, to try and do what it takes to cheer each other up. I’ve been in schools that had a traveling bracelet that informally went to the teacher who needed “mojo” most that week. Or anonymous “I think you’re amazing” notes. Kindness. It’s good for all involved. =)

  2. I do a similar thing every year when our Art and Music teachers spend a week in April prepping for an Evening With the Arts. My kids would create a card for both music and art teachers and then hand deliver them. This year we are not doing Evening with the Arts, but I’ve been wanting them to write thank you notes for the last two specials teachers. This is a great idea.

    1. I like your idea too! Handwritten notes and cards are especially wonderful ways of speaking from the heart.

    1. Thanks! I’m excited to share some of the teachers’ reactions with the kids. They’ll be tickled!

Leave a comment