#SOL20 Day 30: Intentions

WHAT I MEANT TO DO:
-work out
-walk my dog more
-write something better than this
-drink actual real live water
-breathe some outside air
-shower
-start a puzzle
-read a little
-finish this week’s grad school homework

WHAT I ACTUALLY DID:
-attended 5 online “meetings”
-made a bunch of phone calls
-wrote a bunch of tricky emails
-called my mother
-planned how I would break the news of Tomie dePaola to my kiddos
-made some blondies
-mapped out learning for my loveys
-ate with my family
-worked until 10:30
-forced myself to stop working at 10:30

To say today got away from me would be an understatement. I was hoping for a slice today but got buried under a big fat HUNK.

Published by Lainie Levin

Mom of two, full-time teacher, wife, daughter, sister, friend, and holder of a very full plate

10 thoughts on “#SOL20 Day 30: Intentions

  1. I like the title. I’ve had those kinds of days too. The news about Tomie DePaola made me sad. Between him, Eric Carle, & H.A. Rey they were my favorite authors when I was little.

    1. Yes! And I can’t forget about Virginia Lee Burton. Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel was one of my all-time faves.

  2. You called your mom, You ate with your family. You made blondies. These are vital things. Although this may not be the slice you intended, it is one of inherent value: Press on. Do what you need to do. Even if golden moments to untangle thoughts and savor ideas in the quiet writing garden don’t come (how often, really, do they?) – write anyway. And you DID. Your words here are ones everyone can relate to – this is life. Press on!

    1. YES. And it echoes what I tell my kiddos: just KEEP WRITING, even if you don’t like what you’ve written. Just…keep…writing…

  3. Even amidst this hunk, there are slices to savor. A tribute to Tomie, a meal with the family. And now that you have written down your intentions, may you find some time in the coming days and weeks to enjoy them.

    1. Thank you! Somehow this week of e-learning, and the obligations that come along with it, are hitting me much harder than the first week. I’m not sure why that is, but I’m hoping to find a bit more balance in the (unfortunate) weeks to come.

Leave a comment