#SOL20 Day 25: On Twenty-Five

So, it looks like I’ve made it to my twenty-fifth post for the month of March.

For me, that’s nothing to sneeze at. Twenty-five takes commitment.

Twenty-five is the number of years I will have been married this May. And oh, has THAT taken discipline, and commitment, and WORK. And love, to be sure, but discipline, commitment, and WORK.

Twenty-five is also the number of years I have been a teacher. And this one – this commitment – is especially sweet, given its dubious beginnings.

You see, when I was a student teacher, my cooperating teacher didn’t think I was all that or a bag of chips. It wasn’t that she didn’t trust me, but – well, OK. It was that she didn’t trust me: to handle concerns with the students, parent phone calls or the like. Still, I thought I was making my way pretty well along.

Until my final evaluation meeting.

There, in front of my yearlong mentor teacher and my cooperating teacher supervisor; there, in the meeting that mattered the most; there, in that key time of my student teaching experience –

There, my cooperating teacher questioned my commitment to teaching.

Sitting there, dumbstruck, near tears, I had no defense. I had no response.

My only defense, my only response, has been to commit myself heart and soul to the craft of teaching. To double down on the bets I’ve placed on public education and the people I serve. To teach as hard as I can and as compassionately as I can for as long as I can.

Twenty-five, and counting. I’ll take it.

Published by Lainie Levin

Mom of two, full-time teacher, wife, daughter, sister, friend, and holder of a very full plate

18 thoughts on “#SOL20 Day 25: On Twenty-Five

  1. Okay, that supervising teacher was not all that OR a bag of chips because you’re one of the most thoughtful, brilliant educators I’ve ever know. So there. I can go one better… I actually got kicked out of student teaching! Asked to leave. Pack your stuff and go home. See ya, kid! That’s a story I’ll tell you some time. Bravo on all the 25’s!!!

    1. Whoa. Now THAT blows my mind! Although I have to confess that it’s validating that someone who I admire without bounds also had a make-or-break experience before entering the profession.

      I will *definitely* have to hear this story!

  2. “Twenty-five and counting” – love that…love your resilience, perseverance, and commitment. Huge kudos! No one gets to decide our lives for us, except us. I do not like that supervising teacher!!!

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! You’re right – we decide best how to move our lives forward. I’m glad I’ve gone this direction.

  3. Congratulations on all of the magic twenty-fives. That is an accomplishment. Co-ops are supposed to be helpful and encouraging. Sounds like your was not. In fifteen years you will be whee I was when I retired.

    1. Thank you! And yes – this co-op was neither of those things, but the experience has inspired me to be a better colleague and mentor…

    1. Thank you. The way I see it, if what we do comes from the heart, it’s a good thing to put out into the world…

  4. 26 years of marriage and teaching here. Doubling down on that bet, a long time ago, has produced many successful adults. They would have words with your cooperating teacher, and rightfully so.

    25 years in the profession says a lot about you and your commitment to students, parents, and other teachers.

    Thank you for sharing this thoughtful slice with us! 🙂

    1. Yes, I’m sure they would! It’s been amazing to watch my kiddos grow up and out into the world, that’s for sure.
      Thank you for the encouragement!

  5. Congratulations on all these “silver” milestones but from what I can see, your heart is pure gold where the kids are concerned. I do not know why some folks feel the need to – power trip?-discourage?- demean?-utterly humiliate? – others, but there must be some dark gratification for a person like your CT to do this without warning. Many people in our profession are all about a checklist, not offering real support. Many feel threatened by our personality differences or whatever other differences. Some teachers are terribly insecure … they are afraid others are better teachers than they. Who knows what was behind this but here you are and I think you are extraordinary and I know your “loveys” must adore you (how could they not?). And, last but not least: Happy 25th slice!!

    1. Thank you! Yes, I don’t know what’s behind folks who are so discouraging. Thankfully, I’ve grown to consider them from a more compassionate place.

      And…check’s in the mail, Fran! =)

Leave a comment