#SOL20 Day 17: To My Loveys

note: I’ve decided to begin each day with a “pep talk” to my kids. I had a different video shot for tomorrow, but this is the one I’m now deciding to go with…

Hi Friends!

We’ve made it past the first part of our e-learning experience. You’ve all logged in, logged on, and you’ve started to complete the assignments you’ve been given.

You’ve crafted story maps for hero’s journeys. You’ve told me what it’s like to move from place to place. You’ve shared your special cozy places for writing. You’ve done some research on Shakespeare and his Globe Theater. You’ve done some writing.

All that is so very nice.

Now. Here’s what I really want from you.

Start talking to each other. Think of your OWN pep talk you’d like to share. Add some comments or thoughts to give feedback to your classmates. Share words of encouragement, or share what worries you right now, or share what’s happening in your days.

Because, my friends, we need each other. I see the way you interact with one another in class. I see the way you joke around with one another, the way you push each other in conversation, the way you validate one another and make each other feel like YES, being smart is a GOOD thing. That we can get super excited about learning and that’s okay. That we can rattle on with silly jokes or science theories or philosophical debates and no one will bat an eye.

Because that’s what we do for each other. And that’s what I don’t want you to miss out on.

So post your thoughts, your ideas, your wishes, your silliness, your encouragement so that we can keep the wonderful community we’ve all grown to love.

Now make like a manicurist and nail it!

Published by Lainie Levin

Mom of two, full-time teacher, wife, daughter, sister, friend, and holder of a very full plate

10 thoughts on “#SOL20 Day 17: To My Loveys

  1. Hi, Do you video tape a good morning pep talk each day? I love this idea. What a dose of normalcy for your students!! What format do you use, if you don´t mind sharing? Love the manicurist line…Iĺl have to steal that!

    1. Thanks! As for the manicurist line, I try and do a different catchphrase each day with my kids. I should probably write them down if I knew what’s good for me. Maybe that will be another blog post?

      For my videos, I have been posting mostly on the seesaw platform because that’s what my students use. I could also do the same thing on Schoology.

      I suppose there’s also a way to share videos through Google, right?

    1. I love that idea! I think at some point if this drags on more, I may write “snail mail“ letters to my kids as well for a personal touch.

  2. -I want to be in your class!! The writing, researching Shakespeare’s Globe theater … I’d be in my element at so happy each day to interact with my teacher and classmates.More so now than ever. Love the ending, “make like a manicurist and nail it” – how can the kids NOT be pepped up, with you as their teacher?

    1. Thank you! My hope is that they’re going to take this and run with it. I already have one third grader who posted an idea for a virtual project. I hope her classmates latch on!

  3. This is so cool. I’m sure your students responded really well and let’s hope they can be as silly and fun online as they can in the classroom. A pep talk is such a good idea at this time!

Leave a comment