When the Writing Gets Tough

First of all, happy poetry month!

Those of you who read my blog know that I enjoy writing alongside my kids. I like to share my work and my struggles with them.

The week before break, I asked the kids to take on an ambitious poem: to title and write a piece about an important person in their lives, but to do it only by describing something in nature. The reader must be able to make the connection through the text.

Which worked out great, until I hit the source of inspiration for my poem. My brother. My brother, who died two years ago this month. My brother, who sometimes makes his presence known through dreams, or ladybugs, or rainbows, or just the random odd moment that leaves me unable to catch my breath.

It was heavy lifting. I wanted to push this poem to the side, especially when working with students at the same table. I just…couldn’t ignore the need to write. Below is what came to me. It’s ragged around the edges, and it wants more attention than I’m giving it right now, but here it is.

 

Writing With Kids11891140_10153515427722290_7548969775953427842_n.jpg

What to do
When the poem choosing me
Stills my pen?

If I could, I would
Tell them
Of my brother the rainbow
The smile-bringer
The color-giver
The everything-is-ok-er

But then, I must
Tell them
Of my brother the rainbow
Who went away
Who disappeared too soon
Who only comes to me in the glints, glimpses
I’m ready to see.

I think their hearts
Could absorb
Those droplets of grief
But I worry
That one moment they
(Remembering my rainbow)
Look upon their brother
Or sister
Or mirror
And see
That they, too
Are just rainbows.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “When the Writing Gets Tough”

  1. Devon Says:

    Very sweet

  2. Deb Says:

    Lainie your words are moving, powerful and raw! I love reading your blog!
    Deb

    • Lainie Levin Says:

      Thanks! It was weird sitting next to the kids while they wrote at one level, while I found myself falling down the rabbit hole.

  3. Heidi Stauff throughsinaisand Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your brother. This is a moving tribute.

Leave a Reply

